Creating a Script to Convert Excel to CSV, with additional goals

Hey guys, I’m looking for some help with my current project for my company. Any resources are welcome, but I’m also open to feedback or input on my code.

I’m a fairly new developer and have just started to learn PowerShell so a lot of this is new to me. If i’m doing things totally wrong, please let me know.

Here’s my code and scope of the project.

[pre]

#BASH SCRIPT
<#
SET dir="%~dp0"
Powershell -Command "\FILELOCATION\XLSX-to-CSV.ps1 Convert-CsvInBatch -folderPath \"dir\""
#>
<#main script
HELP
.Dependencies
Requires EXCEL to be installed on the machine
.Parameters
Script will require a path location for the input files
.Expected Outputs
Script will export all .XLSX files in a given directory or given selected files to .CSV files in "X Directory(s)"
#>
#Modify XLSX Document | Open each EXCEL Object | Save as .CSV File
Function Convert-CsvInBatch
{
[CmdletBinding()]
Param
(
[Parameter(Mandatory=$true)][String]$Folder
)
#Get all .XLSX files in Directory
$ExcelFiles = Get-ChildItem -Path $Folder -Filter *.xlsx -Recurse
#Creates Excel COMObject
$excelApp = New-Object -ComObject Excel.Application
$excelApp.DisplayAlerts = $false
#For Each File, Delete the Top Row
$ExcelFiles | ForEach-Object {
$workbook = $excelApp.Workbooks.Open($_.FullName)
$csvFilePath= $_.FullName-replace"\.xlsx$",".csv"
#DELETE FIRST 2 ROWS IN EXCEL FILE
$p=1
#Count # of Sheets in Workbook
$i=$workbook.Sheets.Count
while ($p-le$i) {
$sheet=$workbook.Sheets.Item($p)
[void]$sheet.Cells.Item(1,1).EntireRow.Delete()
[void]$sheet.Cells.Item(1,1).EntireRow.Delete()
$p++
}
$workbook.SaveAs($csvFilePath, [Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.XlFileFormat]::xlCSV)
$workbook.Close()
}
# Release Excel Com Object resource
$excelApp.Workbooks.Close()
$excelApp.Visible = $true
Start-Sleep 5
$excelApp.Quit()
[System.Runtime.Interopservices.Marshal]::ReleaseComObject($excelApp) | Out-Null
}
[/pre]

Updated the code to contain my latest iteration.