Comparing user input with a list of strings, looking for a match

Hi folks. I am trying to write a script which can deploy VM’s from templates in VMware. I’m new to this, so trying to keep it as simple as possible. I’m using VMware PowerCLI for this, and am stuck with how to compare input from a user with the result of a Get-Cluster cmdlet.

So I have:

# List and prompt for Cluster
Write-Host
Write-Host "Clusters on {$VIServer}:"
Write-Host
Get-Cluster | Sort-Object Name | Write-Host
Write-Host
Write-Host "Type Cluster for the VM from those listed above:"
$Cluster = Read-Host

This gives a list of existing clusters like:
Cluster1
Cluster2
Cluster3

If the user types Cluster2, how can I compare that typed input with this list of Clusters? I want it to continue with the rest of the script if there is a match, or prompt again for the Cluster if there is no match (also providing the user with an explanation for why they need to enter it again.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ross

If you want to implement that yourself, you can store a list of valid values in a variable and use either the -contains or -in operators to detect whether the user typed a valid option. That’s not a particularly great user experience, though (having to type out a whole name instead of just entering a number or clicking a button.) If you don’t mind a tiny bit of GUI interaction, here’s an easy way to give people a list to select from in PowerShell 3.0 and onward:

$selection = Get-Cluster | Sort-Object Name | Select-Object Name | Out-GridView -PassThru -Title 'Select a cluster'

If the user presses the Cancel button on that dialog, $selection will be $null; you’ll probably want some code to detect and handle that case.