Combine two output results

I am very very new to powershell

Working on doing some automated patching in our SQL server environments. I am first taking a DB backup and then applying patches and then sending output in an email

I need to figure out the below:

how do I get the results of second command in the email? when I run this script I only get the output of the first command in the email. Columns in both the scripts are different.

$Results = backup-dbadatabase -sqlinstance abcsqlserver -database ‘abc’ -path \abcsqlserver\Backup -type full -copyonly -compressbackup -ignorefilecheck;update-dbainstance abcsqlserver -KB 4019094 -path \abcsqlserver\Patches -restart -confirm:$false

$to = ‘abc@abc.com’

$smtp = ‘mailrelay.abc.local’

$from = ‘abc@abc.com’

$subject = ‘SQL Server Patching on abcsqlserver’

$Body = $Results | convertto-html | Out-String

Send-MailMessage -To $to -From $from -Body $Body -bodyashtml -Subject $subject -SmtpServer $smtp

Any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks

Welcome to Powershell.org.

Please (re-)read the very first pinned post of this forum Read Me Before Posting! You’ll be Glad You Did!.

When you post code please format it as code using the code tag button (“PRE”). And you may try to avoid posting too much unnecessary white space. :wink:

What second command?

I concur with Olaf.

[quote quote=200504]$Results = backup-dbadatabase -sqlinstance abcsqlserver -database ‘abc’ -path \abcsqlserver\Backup -type full -copyonly -compressbackup -ignorefilecheck;update-dbainstance abcsqlserver -KB 4019094 -path \abcsqlserver\Patches -restart -confirm:$false[/quote]; is a command separator in PowerShell, so $Results will have only the first command output and if you want the second command output as well then need to append the output of the second command to $Results

[pre]
$Results = @()
$Results += backup-dbadatabase -sqlinstance abcsqlserver -database ‘abc’ -path \abcsqlserver\Backup -type full -copyonly -compressbackup -ignorefilecheck;