Changing Service Passwords

Hi, I am new to posh. I was just recently asked to see if I can automate our “password rotation” process.

We have a dozen + servers all running various application services. Each of those has a number of services that support our Application. On a frequent basis, we have to go in and change the password on all those services … a real chore. Involves:

1. Logging on to the server
  2. Pulling up the Services application
  3. Find the services we manage
  4. Right clicking on the service and selecting Properties
  5. Changing the password in two places
  6. Saving, getting out, and going to the next service

I think I have steps 1, 2, 3, & 6 figured out. I am stumped on #4 and #5.

Would anyone know what cmdlet or object I need to use to set the password? Would you have an example?

The manual way of achieving this is shown in my two attachments.

Thanks ahead of time for any help you can provide!

Tom

You could automate that, but you’d be reinventing the wheel to some degree. Before you go down that road, I’d recommend that you read up on the “Managed Service Accounts” feature of Active Directory. (or its newer version, “Group Managed Service Accounts”.) That may take care of your needs already.

They work basically just like computer accounts, where Windows and AD automatically change the password every so often without the need for explicit administrator intervention.

The Win32_Service class, accessible via WMI or CIM, has a Change() method that lets you designate a new password for a service. http://poshcode.org/92 shows an example of how you could use that in a function to automate password changes for services.

Great info … thanks Don!

Don,

I saved the code from the link and ran it with the following invocation:
$service = 'Benefits Server Job Launcher: UATIWA'
$server  = 'vavt-bws-apu21'
$user    = 'NRECA\xxx'   # This is an admin user 
$pw      = '12345'

# Param     $server,  $service  , $user   ,  $password