Can't export the result of a loop to .csv

Hello,

This is my script. It goes through all the scopes of the DHCP server to get the HostName, IpAddress and ClientID (MAC Address) of a machine.

$Scopes = Get-DhcpServerv4Scope -ComputerName DHCP1
foreach ($Scope in $Scopes) 
{
Get-DhcpServerv4Lease -ComputerName DHCP1 -AllLeases -ScopeId $($Scope.ScopeId) | Select-Object HostName,IPAddress,ClientID | Sort-Object HostName
} 
| Export-Csv -Path C:\Users\user1\Desktop\export.csv

I’m a novice in Powershell and object-oriented proramming. I don’t know what I did wrong, I just want to export the result of the ForEach loop to a .csv file with 3 colums: HostName,IPAddress,ClientID.

Can you help me please?

If I remove the last pipeline before Export-CSV this is the error message I get:

cmdlet Export-Csv at command pipeline position 1

Supply values for the following parameters:

InputObject:

The foreach loop is not part of the pipeline. You should continue your pipeline within the loop and append to the CSV as it’s produced.

{
Get-DhcpServerv4Lease -ComputerName DHCP1 -AllLeases -ScopeId $($Scope.ScopeId) | Select-Object HostName,IPAddress,ClientID | Sort-Object HostName | Export-Csv -Path C:\Users\user1\Desktop\export.csv -Append
} 

or you can collect your results in a variable and pipe them out after the loop completes

$results = @()
{
$results += Get-DhcpServerv4Lease -ComputerName DHCP1 -AllLeases -ScopeId $($Scope.ScopeId) | Select-Object HostName,IPAddress,ClientID | Sort-Object HostName
}

$results | Export-Csv -Path C:\Users\user1\Desktop\export.csv

Hello,

Thank you very much for your help. I tested both scripts. If I put the Export-CSV in the {} loop, the CSV only contains the results from the last scope of the DHCP server.

The 2nd script work flawlessly.

:smiley: