bypass UAC when running powershell script from 3ds Max

Hey, guys!

I’m very new to powershell scripting, but I found that I need to use it.

I solved almost everything that I need with ps1, but the problem is with UAC now.

In maxscript I use the code as follows to run ps1, and it runs the script with UAC promts:

local ShellPath = "C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\WindowsPowerShell\\v1.0\\powershell.exe"
      			local procInfo = dotnetobject "System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo" ShellPath
      			procInfo.Arguments = "-noprofile -executionpolicy bypass -File " + "\"" + ShellFile + "\""
				procInfo.Verb = "runas" -- run as administrator
				procInfo.useShellExecute = on -- run as administrator
				procInfo.CreateNoWindow = on 
				procInfo.WindowStyle = (DotNetClass "System.Diagnostics.ProcessWindowStyle").Hidden -- hide console
      			local DotNetHandle = dotnetclass "System.Diagnostics.Process"
      			local SharingProcess = undefined
      			try 
      			(
      				SharingProcess = DotNetHandle.Start procInfo
      				SharingProcess.StartInfo.WindowStyle=(DotNetClass "System.Diagnostics.ProcessWindowStyle").Hidden
      			)
      			catch 
      			(
      				print "error launching Shell"
      				return false
      			)

I need it to use from a tool that will be installed to many computers. I don’t want to turn of UAC promts, just bypass it.

a simple run-as will bypass UAC (to call the script, not from within it).

The way UAC works is pretty simple: all it does is generate two auth-tokens when a user logs into a computer instead of one when it detects that an account is a member of a well-known security group. One token will contain all group membership SIDs, the other token will have the well-known security groups filtered out. The computer will then automatically use the “less-privileged” token until it runs into a permissions issue that can be solved with your elevated rights, then the UAC will prompt for your permission to use the elevated token.