beginner help - copying files from compare-object output

by john808 at 2012-11-26 06:44:07

Hi,

I’d like to create a PS script that will compare two directories. Then, if one directory should contain a file the other doesn’t, I would like that file to be copied to the other. Basically I want to make both directories identical.

I’ve been able to compare the directorires using the following:

$d1 = get-childitem -name -path "M:\Compare folder 1" $dir1 -recurse
$d2 = get-childitem -name -path "C:\Compare folder 2" $dir2 -recurse
compare-object $d1 $d2

This provides an output showing any differences but I would like to have the differences amended by copying the files.

Hopefully I’ve explained myself clearly. I’m a beginner so please feel free to tell me if this will be too complex for my currently level.

Thanks.
by DonJ at 2012-11-26 07:07:33
So… me, I’d probably just use Robocopy.exe for this ;). It’s designed to sync directories and it’s a lot faster.

But, if this is just a PowerShell exercise for you, you’re on the right track. Assign the results of Compare-Object to a variable, say $result. Then try piping that to Get-Member. You’ll see that the difference objects show you which "side" is different, and they contain the different objects.

So in your example, $d1 is left and $d2 is right. I might pass $result to Where-Object, keeping only those items which are on the left and not on the right (what’s in $d1 that isn’t in $d2). I’d then pipe those to Copy-Item or ForEach-Object to copy them from D1 to D2.
by john808 at 2013-04-30 06:24:15
Hi,

I’ve been working on this again but I’m having problems understanding "where-Object"? The part that is confusing is the syntax…

Here is the script I’ve been playng with…

[code2=powershell]# Setting variables
$Folder1 = Get-childitem M:\PSTestfolder1 -recurse
$Folder2 = Get-childitem M:\PSTestfolder2 -Recurse
$folder3 = M:\PSTestfolder3