Basic question/info about starting remoting

by leoc50 at 2012-12-21 21:52:47

Hello All/Anyone

I’m a DBA and had to get SQL Server info from a number of servers for which I have no access yet, so I thought I’d write a powershell script (learning powershell on my way to complete the script) to have a Wintel colleague run the script (he does have access).
When I had what I tried to enable remoting [to make it easy for my colleague] I kept getting errors about RPC and the ‘test’ computer not being found. RPC service is running on my two (2) testing servers (host and remote).

The question is: the environment is powershell v1.0 (I’m running the ‘remoting’ from a server with v2.0). But in reality all the servers that I have "test" or rather have access to have powershell v1.0 there might be a few with version > 1.0
Can remoting be done in v1.0? do all servers have to have the same versions?
(obviously I haven’t done "much" reading on this topic yet…like I said I just started with powershell and scripting it, I found it a very good tool and I know it’ll make my life easier collecting and sving data/info into a database table for our project (service accounts. security, remediation, etc…) I really can’t wait to learn a lot more and fast about powershell (I’m very surrised how usefulthis language is)

Anyway if anyone can tell me whether or not I can do remoting with v1.0 (obviously Windows server 2003 sp2) I will greatly appreciate it!!

Thanks
leo
by DonJ at 2012-12-22 07:02:09
"Remoting" doesn’t rely on RPCs, and isn’t available in v1.0. You can’t "talk" from v2 to v1. There should be no reason not to upgrade to v2, though.
by leoc50 at 2012-12-22 22:23:30
Thank you for the info Don J., I was hoping you’d give me some input on. I’ve seen you webcast about remoting and downloaded the free whitepaper but as I mentiond earlier I haven’t had the time to sit down and read; but I will I find your approachs very useful, easy to understand more than anything quite instructive!