AWS - Copying file to S3

Hello All -

I am trying to automate the process of copying backup files from a local (on-premise) server to AWS S3.
( And, just an FYI, I am new to both PowerShell and AWS.)

I have a PowerShell script that does the copy when I run it manually (inside powershell), but when I try and run via a Sql Server job (the backups are from sql server), the PowerShell commands seem to work, but NOT the AWS ones.

I thought that this might be a user/credential issue, and I did find that when the job is being run from sql server, it is run as the Sql Serer Agent user. I thought that I might be able to just change to my credentials or a stored profile, but that is not working.

As a test, I am simply trying to run the AWS Get-S3Bucket command. The error message i receive is:

Get-S3Bucket : Name resolution failure attempting to reach service in region 
eu-west-1 (as supplied to the -Region parameter or from configured shell 
default).
Unable to connect to the remote server.
Possible causes:
    - The region may be incorrectly specified (did you specify an availability zone?).
    - The service may not be available in the region.
    - No network connectivity.

But I can run the powershell script and that works.

Below is my simple script, but what I tried to do is
(1) hard-code the keys and region just to see if that would work. The Get-S3Bucket command still fails.
(2) Used the Set-AWSCredentials command to store a profile.

Set-AWSCredentials -AccessKey MyAccessKeyXXXXX -SecretKey MySecretKey -StoreAs SqlAgent 

This works and i can run the command to check the credentials available, and i see one named “SqlAgent”
I then use the Set-AWSCredentials to set the stored one

Set-AWSCredentials -StoredCredentials SqlAgent

and try to run the AWS commands…and it still fails when run through the Sql Server Agent Job.

Thanks in advance for any feedback and suggestions.

S3-test.ps1

## set up some log file variables
$logFile = 'C:\Temp\PS-Log-003.txt'