Automate logon to webpage

Hello

I’m new to learning powershell and picking up the basics just now. I have a an application that runs internally through IE, it is apache based and it coded in HTML. The url is http://localhost/form on this page it has a username field and password field and I want to automate the login then eventually go to a particular page with some menus that control a DLL file and send a value to that DLL.

To start with I just want to get the login automated then work on the other aspects. I’ve viewed the source code from the web page to determine the fields for the username and password fields and how I can pass the credentials to these fields and login. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction as this is all new to me. I’ve never had to much scripting or work with syntax before.

Username
    <div class="login_PasswordHeading">Password</div>
    <div id="PasswordField" class="login_Password">
	<input type="password" name="password" class="login_TextBox" maxlength="128" value="" tabindex="2"/>
    </div>
</form>

<div class="login_Button" id="btnLogin" onmouseup="SubmitLogin(true);">
    <div class="login_Button_Left">
	<div class="login_Button_Right">
	    <div class="login_Button_Centre">
		<div class="login_Button_Icon"></div>
		<div class="login_ButtonText">Login</div>
	    </div>
             </div>
    </div>
</div>
</div>

<div>

Calum
Welcome to the forum.

You actually picked an advanced and complex topic to start with. :wink:

In PowerShell we use the cmdlet …

… to interact or to automate the access to web pages. Please read the help completely including the examples to learn how to use it.