Assistance with Invoke-WebRequest

Hi everyone,

Hoping someone here can help me with some website scraping I’m trying to do using Invoke-WebRequest. I would like to scrape the comments section of a website I frequent. After poking around and doing counts and href lookups, I have figured out that it’s a Wordpress blog and the comments are in a #comments subdirectory. If I do the following:

(Invoke-Webrequest -uri https://thewpblogsite.com/directory/#comments).Content, I get all the data from the comments section, but of course I only want the comments themselves. I’ve noticed that each comment is wrapped in the following tags…

<section class=“comment-content comment”>

</section><!-- .comment-content –>

I’ve tried a ton of ways to narrow this down in a way that PS will understand but I’m still fairly new to Powershell so I’m not advanced enough to know how to extract this out.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Nelson

Can you share an example output. You can a gist in gist.github.com and copy paste the url here to share the XML snippet.

Sure.

Here is the website whose comments I wish to scrape, in my variable… $URI = “https://frugalvagabond.com/get-non-lucrative-residence-visa-spain/#comment

And my other variable…

$HTML = Invoke-WebRequest -Uri $URI

Based on the tag and class name I see for the comments I want to scrape, here is what I am entering…

($HTML.ParsedHtml.getElementsByTagName(“SECTION”) | Where{ $_.className -like “comment-content comment” } ).innertext

But I get nothing in return.

I have run GM and OGV as well and while I think I am choosing the right tag and class, the comment data doesn’t come up. I assume it’s a different tag and class but not sure which I should be choosing since it’s all that really stands out to me and all I want is the text of the actual comments on this webpage.

Thank you in advance.

Nelson

< !– .comment-content –>