Adding Date to a file

I am very new to Powershell. My boss is asking for me to research a code that will download a copy of an excel file and add a current date/time to a saved file. Any help or point in the right direction will be appreciated.

Jessica,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

… and instead of following the order of your boss you came here to ask someone else to do it for you?! :smiling_face: :wink:

Please keep in mind - this forum is for scripting questions rather than script requests. We do not write customized and ready to use scripts or solutions on request.

We actually expect you to make an own attempt at the first place to get your task done or to solve your problem. If you have done so already please document here what exactly you have done and show your code. Then we probably might be able to help you step further.

In general you are most of the times not the first one with a given task. And code for the most common tasks have been publiched already somewhere. So your first attempt should be to use your favorite search engine to search for examples.

Regardless of all that … you do not share enough precise information about your task. What do you mean with …

? … download from where?

Is it an *.XLSX file or a CSV file?

Where would you like to add the date/time? In the file name or in the file content? If in the content - where in the content? In what format should this date/time be?

1 Like

I’m asking for help or direction on how to find where to start. I watched a couple videos on PowerShell but again I am completely new to this language. My boss is also aware of me not knowing. But thank you I will go somewhere else and try to find help on this. I just figured I would give this forum a chance.