AD User & Home Directory Rename

Hello
I was tasked with updating all of our user names to our new scheme of firstname.lastname from our previous convention of first 6 letters of lastname plus first 2 of first name. I found a PS script and have modified it to try and accomplish what we need but I am very new to PS and not sure what I am missing or where I need to make changes. We have a mixed environment of some users having the 6 and 2 name while others have the first.last name. I am using the script below and it works to rename the older logons and home directories however it is throwing errors such as:
“The specified account already exists” (Happens when running on account that is already set to first.last instead of checking to see if another account name already exists and if so, changes to first.middle.last or leaves as is if no existing account exists.)
“Rename-Item: Cannot rename item at \fs01\users\duckda does not exist”
(I get this error but it changes the home directory path to \fs01\users\daffy.duck"
I am trying to have it look at a specific OU and then change the users to first.last unless there is an existing first.last account and then change it to first.middle.last. Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

import-module activedirectory

$ou = Read-Host “What OU do you want to update?”;

$usersToChange = Get-ADUser -Filter * -SearchBase “OU=$ou, OU=RSD, DC=domain, DC=domain” -Properties *;

Grabs all the users in the OU and puts them in an array

foreach ($user in $usersToChange) {

$oldLogon = Get-AdUser $user -Properties * | Select-Object -Expand sAMAccountName;
# This grabs old account info

$lastName = Get-AdUser $user -Properties * | Select-Object -Expand surname;
# This grabs Last Name

$middleName = Get-ADUser $user -Properties * | Select-Object -Expand initials;
# This grabs middle initial

$firstName = Get-aduser $user -Properties * | Select-Object -Expand givenName;
# This grabs first name