AD User account cleanup

by thedietz at 2012-10-02 07:22:05

Let me start by saying thanks and that I am very very new to scripting/powershell/all of the above. I have been tasked with cleaning up our AD environment a little bit. My tasks are to 1. Find AD user accounts that have been inactive for 6 months or longer and pipe that info to a file. 2. Set those accounts to "disabled". 3. Move those "disabled: accounts to a "disabled accounts" OU in AD. I have came up with 3 seperate cmdlets to do each one as follows.

1. search-adaccount -usersonly -accountinactive -timespan "180" -searchbase "ou=users,dc=test,dc=org" | export-csv e:\test\test.txt
2. search-adaccount -usersonly -accountinactive -timespan "180" -searchbase "ou=users,dc=test,dc=org" | disable-adaccount
3. Search-ADAccount –AccountDisabled –UsersOnly –SearchBase “OU=users,dc=test,dc=org” | Move-ADObject –TargetPath “OU=Disabled Users,dc=test,dc=org”

Running each of these one at a time gives the correct results. I am confused with Piping though. I though I could run all 3 with one command such as this…

search-adaccount -usersonly -accountinactive -timespan "180" -searchbase "ou=users,dc=test,dc=org" | export-csv e:\test\test.csv | disable-adaccount | Move-ADObject –TargetPath “OU=Disabled Users,dc=test,dc=org”

this only performs the first pipe though and exports the data to CSV file. It does not disable or move accounts. I am wrong thinking I can run my first cmdlet and then pipe those results to do these 3 specfic tasks?

Thanks for the help, and i hope i explained what i am attemping well enough.
by jonhtyler at 2012-10-02 07:34:00
The reason that you are having this problem is that the Export-CSV does not pass the objects through to the next statement. I think if you re-arrange your statement, it might work better for you. Try this: