Active Directory - Search User, Unlock Account, Reset Pass, Require New Pass

Hello there,

I am very new to PowerShell and I am working on utilizing it in my new job.
I am most familiar with C# but haven’t programed anything in it in quite some time.

I am trying to create a PowerShell script that will do (at least) the following:

• Ask for AD Username.
  • Search AD for that username and display error message if not found.
  • Display the searched user’s AD info (to verify I have selected the correct user).
  • Reset the user’s password to a password I have generated.
  • Check to make sure the password I set meets the requirements set in AD.
  • Unlock the user’s account (if locked).
  • Require that the user create a new password at the next login.

I have been working on tis on-and-off this week and this is one of the scripts I am working with currently:

### ADSearchANDPassReset.ps1

Clear-Host
Set-Location C:
Push-Location C:

### Get AD Username as Input.
$ADName = Read-Host -Prompt 'Enter username to EDIT'

### Display user found message.
Write-Host "The user "$ADName "has been found!"

### Get New Password as input.
$NewPass = Read-Host "Enter NEW Password" -AsSecureString

### Reset AD User's password with New Password.

Set-ADAccountPassword $ADName -Reset -NewPassword (ConvertTo-SecureString -AsPlainText "$NewPass" -Force -Verbose) -PassThru

Read-Host -Prompt "Press Enter to exit"

Here are the Problems I have with my script so far:
(And things I’ll need help on)

• No error-checking for searching for $ADName. (Always says “has been found”)
  • I am able to enter any password I want (even if it doesn’t meet the requirements set by AD).
    (the password doesn’t get set to this but I don’t get an error message either).
  • Not sure how to check for a locked account and unlock it.
  • No success/error message after resetting password.

Those are the features I would like and the issues I can think of right now.