Where-Object Not Returning Com-Object

Hi friends, relative beginner here. I’m looking to automate some Outlook functionality, but running in to a strange problem I cannot diagnose despite Googling all morning. Perhaps you would be so kind as to explain what I am obviously doing wrong.

I am trying to filter emails based on conditions so I can move or delete them.

Add-Type -AssemblyName "Microsoft.Office.Interop.Outlook"
$outlook = New-Object -ComObject Outlook.Application
$namespace = $outlook.GetNamespace("MAPI")
$inbox = ($namespace.Folders.Item("MyInbox).Folders.Item("Inbox"))
$emails = $inbox.Items

Here is where it breaks down. I want to filter the mailitems by subject so I can foreach move them.

$movemails = ($emails | Where-Object {$_.Subject -contains "Subject"} )

The command runs for a bit, then displays no output. I run:

$movemails | Get-Member

And the output is this error message:

gm : You must specify an object for the Get-Member cmdlet.
At line:1 char:13

• $iconmail | gm
  •         ~~

• CategoryInfo : CloseError: (:slight_smile: [Get-Member], InvalidOperationException
    • FullyQualifiedErrorId : NoObjectInGetMember,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetMemberCommand

For whatever reason Where is not returning the mailitem Com-Objects and I do not know why. I also tried using an out-variable but the same error occurred when checking the output.

Ugh. I hate that COM object.

Anyway, I think you’re using the wrong operator. See if this helps: https://devopscollective.gitbooks.io/the-big-book-of-powershell-gotchas/content/manuscript/contains-isnt-like.html.

Hi Don. Thank you for the link. Using -Like solved the problem… except I do not know why since I used the “TEST” subject line and the value was “TEST”. Oh well. Thanks!

Not sure if I should post here or start a different thread, but I have a related question.

First, I hate this COM Object too.