What is your process for developing & testing DSC?

I’ve been working with DSC for about 2 years now and am surprised by how little I have found on this topic. I come from an application development background so I have high expectations of my local development process. Specifically:

1. Easily list dependencies in 1 place. Use that list for both local development and in production deployments.
  2. Rapid iterations of change code => build code => test change => repeat. Rapid meaning 1 - 10 seconds.
My current process does not meet my expectations. I'm hoping others are willing to share their setup so I can spot ways to improve. Here is how I do it:

Infrastructure:

• Azure Automation pull server
  • Local Windows 10 dev machine
  • Target DSC node - an Azure VM. OS varies but is usually Windows Server 2012 R2
Process A

This is how I used to do it:

1. Deploy the VM. Do not register it to Azure Automation.
  2. Log into the VM.
  3. Install git, VS Code, clone repo.
  4. Source code has all PowerShell modules in it. This means 3rd party OS (gross, I know) and custom modules we wrote.
  5. Source code has DSC configs.
  6. Custom build script copies all modules to a directory in the PSModulesPath.
  7. Custom build script complies the config (dot sourced).
  8. Custom build script applies the config to localhost with Start-DscConfiguration.
  9. Rapidly repeat steps 6 - 8 to work through any compilation or runtime errors.
  10. When task is complete, check in changes to modules & config.
  11. Delete the VM.
  12. Push modules to Azure Automation. All modules needed are in the project so we know we are deploying the same versions we just tested.
  13. Push configs to Azure Automation. Compile them.
  14. Deploy the VM to Azure. This time, let it register to Azure Automation.
Pros:
  • Very rapid feedback when developing both configs and custom modules.
Cons: