User data from 2 text files in a Set command

Hi All,

I am new to PowerShell. I am trying to use data from 2 files in a set command. Tried the below. But it gives an error. AppName.txt has multiple application names and CollName.txt has its Collection Names. I want to use both the files in the below code. Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Code:

$AName = Get-Content -Path "C:\Temp\AppName.txt"
$CName = Get-Content -Path "C:\Temp\CollName.txt"
Set-CMApplicationDeployment -ApplicationName $AName -CollectionName $CName -UserNotification HideAll

Error:
Set-CMApplicationDeployment : Cannot convert ‘System.Object’ to the type ‘System.String’ required by parameter
‘ApplicationName’. Specified method is not supported.
At line:1 char:46

• Set-CMApplicationDeployment -ApplicationName $AName -CollectionName $ …
  •                                          ~~~~~~

• CategoryInfo : InvalidArgument: (:slight_smile: [Set-CMApplicationDeployment], ParameterBindingException
    • FullyQualifiedErrorId : CannotConvertArgument,Microsoft.ConfigurationManagement.PowerShell.Cmdlets.Deployments.S
      etApplicationDeployment

Sn152,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

Assuming you have more than one application and more than one collection in your input files you will need a nested loop to create deployments for all apps for all collections.

$AppNameList = Get-Content -Path "C:\Temp\AppName.txt"
$CollectionNameList = Get-Content -Path "C:\Temp\CollName.txt"
foreach ($Collection in $CollectionNameList) {
    foreach ($AppName in $AppNameList) {
        Set-CMApplicationDeployment -ApplicationName $AppName -CollectionName $Collection -UserNotification HideAll
    }
}
1 Like

Olaf is right.
you have two collections and you can’t simply use two collecitons as the parameter.
you should use foreach to read every name in collecitons.

Hi Olaf, Chen,

Thank you so much for the reply.