Trouble with -TargetPath

I am pretty new at powershell but I am trying to write a script to gather all the Domain Controllers and then Loop through them adding a new DFSN Root Target. I can’t my current object to resolve correctly in the -TargetPath parameter of the script. I can get it to work if I replace the variable manually. I am totally lost on this by now and would love some help.

#Get a list of all Domain Controllers
Get-ADDomainController -Filter * | Select Name |

#Start For-Each Loop
% {

#Displays the server currently being accessed
write-host “Starting Process on:” $_.name

#Create a new directory
invoke-command -computername $_.name -scriptBlock {new-item C:\DFSRoots\UsersNetBackup -type directory}

#Share the Directory
invoke-command -computername $_.name -scriptBlock {new-smbshare -name UsersNetBackup -Path C:\DFSRoots\UsersNetBackup -FullAccess Everyone}

#Add current server to the DFS using the new directory and share just created
invoke-command -computername $.name -scriptBlock {new-DfsnRootTarget -Path “\yourdomain\UsersNetBackup” -TargetPath "\$($.name)\UsersNetBackup"}

[blockquote]the above line is where my script errors out
[/blockquote]

#Shows the current server again after everything is done.
Write-Host “Done with Processes on:” $_.name
}

#Everyting is done. If there are no errors, you did a good job :slight_smile:
Write-Host “Done will all servers”

I think this is one of the powershell “Gotchas”. The problem is variables created outside the scriptblock curly braces aren’t recognized inside the braces. Therefore you have to pass it the variable as you would a parameter to a function. Example:

Invoke-Command -ComputerName $_.Name -ScriptBlock { param($ServerName); New-DfsnRootTarget -Path "\\yourdomain\UsersNetBackup" -TargetPath "\\$Servername\UsersNetBackup" } -ArgumentList $_.Name