Tip to create a check on validity on variable input

Hi all,

Since I’m a noob with PowerShell I’m pretty happy with what I managed to do this morning. But I want to take things a level further.

So what I did is the following. I created a script that shows me all processes with CPU util less than 100% and should sort it. Then I decided it would be nicer to just see a process name. So I added that. However, I wanted to be able to search by wildcards. Which works when the process exists. When I enter complete and utter rubbish it shows this as screen output. How can I put a validation tool in place that tells me that the name couldn’t be found?

Script here:

cls;
#Now we try the same thing with providing a process name and run the same script again :)))
#
#This tool will give you more information on a process you chose. Please make sure you type the process name exactly or use the wildcard * to find the service you want to check on. PowerShell rocks!
$process = get-process 
[string]$process=Read-host "Enter process name"
$process | where -Property ProcessName -like "*" | where -Property CPU -le 100 | sort -Property CPU -Descending
get-process $process

A hint would be good the rest I want to discover but my searches so far didn’t yield any result. No solution just hints please.

Update: I think it half way works:

#This is to play around to see if I can get a validation in place so no gibberish can be returned on screen
#
cls;
#Now we try the same thing with providing a process name and run the same script again :)))
#
#This tool will give you more information on a process you chose. Please make sure you type the process name exactly or use the wildcard * to find the service you want to check on. PowerShell rocks!
$process = get-process 
$process | where -Property ProcessName -like $process | where -Property Name -like "*" |  where -Property CPU -le 100 | sort -Property CPU -Descending |  write-host "Invalid process!"
get-process $process