Regex in Powershell

Hi,

I am new to Regex world, below is my requirement.

$Output = " 2.1G /ofs01/prod/OFSFileStore_auto_1"

I need to extract the 2.1G from the data, so I did the below thing.

[Regex]::Match($Output,"\d+.\d+[M|G]).Value

It gave me the output 2.1G which is perfect, but now the Condition is :

1. 2.1G Value should not be greater than 2.5G
  2. It is not necessary that it will be in Gb only, it can be 385M or 385.27M like this
  3. So first thing is I need to extract the (value+GB or MB). If its in GB then will start comparing else i will need to convert it to GB and then compare with 2.5 GB

So kindly help me to provide any regex or solution as per the points mentioned above.

If you do it like this:

$Output -match “(\d+.*\d+)([M|G])”

you will have the number in $Matches[1] and the G or M in $Matches[2] so you can check and proceed accordingly

Olaf Thanks for the reply. but in case the Output doesn’t have a decimal value. it will return False.

Example :

$Output = " 2G /ofs01/prod/OFSFileStore_auto_1"

return false

Can u guide further on this.

Hi Olaf,

While your solution should work for the OP I wanted to point out the possible misunderstanding of the characters in yours and the OP’s regex pattern. The square brackets are used to identify a range of characters or multiple characters to match. Therefore with the way both of you have written [M|G] the pipe character does not mean “or”, rather it is a character that can be matched in the string. Instead of the square brackets simply use regular brackets/parenthesis to group characters in an “or” statement separated by the pipe character. To use your example I’d simply remove just the square brackets from your pattern to get the desired result.