PSFTP Module: changing file extensions on an FTP Server

I’m pretty new to Powershell and am trying to create a script that does the following.

1. Copyfiles (without an extension) to an FTP Server.

2. Once they are on the FTP Server, each file needs to to have the .tmp extension added to the file name.

3. Once both of the above have taken place, the files on the local machine need to be moved to a separate local directory.

I have been using the PSFTP module to try and facilitate this.

https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/PowerShell-FTP-Client-db6fe0cb

The script I have so far achieves 1 and 2, but I can’t work out how to append the .tmp extension on the files on the FTP server. I’m trying to use the Rename-FTPItem cmdlet, but can;t determine how to just rename the extension portion of the file namespace.

This is what I have so far.

Set-FTPConnection -Credentials $MyCredential -Server $FTPServer -Session FTPsendGetSession
$Session = Get-FTPConnection -Session FTPsendGetSession
$fileList = Get-ChildItem -Path $LocalPath -Filter l6xq* -recurse
#Label verbose transaction block for the upload of files from the local directory to the FTP server
Write-Verbose "<>"
#For each file returned  in the above get-childitem directory, move it to the ftp location
foreach ($File in $fileList) {
        Write-Output "Processing file:  $($File.FullName)"
        try {

Add-FTPItem -Session $Session -Path $FTPPath -LocalPath $File.FullName -overwrite -confirm:$False -verbose -ErrorAction Stop
            }  
            catch {
                    Write-Warning "Error occurred with $($File.FullName). $($error[0].message)"
                 }
    }
$FTPfileList = Get-FTPChildItem -Session $Session -Path $FTPPath
#Label verbose transaction block for files between local directories
Write-Verbose "<>"
#For each file returned  in the above get-ftp childitem directory, rename it appending the .tmp extension
foreach ($File in $ftpfileList) 
         {

try {