PowerShell to failover cluster

by sql_jarret at 2012-12-02 14:05:37

Hello everyone,

I am new to PowerShell, and am trying to write a script to failover a 2 node Windows Server 2012 cluster. Â I have the code to do the actual failover, but it is hardcoded and am wanting to make this more dynamic. My goal is to be able to put a single PowerShell script on all of my clustered nodes and have it run without issue.

Here is my code to do the failover (node names are hardcoded). This will check to see if the script is ran on NodeA, then move all cluster groups to NodeB, and vice-versa.

if ($env:COMPUTERNAME -ieq "NodeA")
{
Get-ClusterGroup | Move-ClusterGroup -Node "NodeB"
}
elseif ($env:COMPUTERNAME -ieq "NodeB")
{
Get-ClusterGroup | Move-ClusterGroup -Node "NodeA"
}

I would prefer to have the script determine the inactive node and move all cluster groups to it. I have attempted to implement this functionality with the following code, but I am having some issues.

$ClusterName = Get-Cluster | Select-Object Name
#######$ClusterName = "WindowsClusterName"

$ClusterOwner = (Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_ComputerSystem -ComputerName $ClusterName) | Select-Object Name
$AllNodes = Get-ClusterNode | Select-Object Name

$InactiveNode = $AllNodes -notmatch $ClusterOwner

This generates the following error. However, if I hardcode the cluster name (the commented line above), the code executes. I was trying to use the clustering cmdlet’s to get the current owner ($ClusterOwner = Get-ClusterGroup | Select-Object OwnerNode -Unique), but wasn’t having much luck with that either.

Get-WmiObject : The RPC server is unavailable. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800706BA)
At line:4 char:18
+ $ClusterOwner = (Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_ComputerSystem -ComputerName $Cluste …
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidOperation: (:slight_smile: [Get-WmiObject], COMException