Obtaining a piece of registry information from all computers in a domain

Hello everyone. Brand new to this forum and this is my first post. I’m pretty new to powershell but not entirely new to script writing and wondering if the following request could be accomplished with powershell. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I need to be able to obtain the character length of the data contained in a registry entry on each computer in the company. The location would be HkeyLocalMachine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\SessionManager\Environment. In that registry location will be a Path variable. I need to query the data of that Path variable. I would like to obtain the length of that string and not necessarily the actual values of that path. The data of the path variable might be far too long to store in a report. We need to find all of the computers that are holding excessively long paths to help preempt further issues that came about from a prior issue. I’d like to be able to output a simple list of the computer names sorted by the largest strings lengths. I would also not be apposed to only reporting on computers where that string exceeds a certain length thereby cutting down the report size as well a possibly the time to run the powershell script.
Thanks!

mjlongo,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

Short answer … Yes, that’s possible. :wink:

But please keep in mind this forum is for scripting questions rather than script requests. We do not write customized and ready to use scripts or solutions on request.

What have you tried so far? We expect you to make an own attempt to get your task done or to solve your problem. If you have done so already please document here what exactly you have done and show your code. Then we probably might be able to help you step further.