Need help expanding searchbase variable

Hello all,

I am not very experienced with PowerShell. I am working on something that when I put it in a write-host, it seems to work OK. When I then put it into my main script, it fails. Note, if I manually expand out the searchbase, instead of using the variable, the script works OK. I’m setting up a ‘template’ script that others at my company could use for multiple domains, without needing to change the script at all. The searchbase variable however does not seem to be expanding, so the command fails. I’ve tried {}, (), and “”. Help!

$strOU = "Computers"
$strDomain = (Get-ADDomain -Current LocalComputer)
$searchb = "OU="+"$strOU"+","+"$strDomain"
if(Get-ADComputer -Filter {OperatingSystem -Like "*Windows*"} -SearchBase "$searchb" -properties * |Select-Object name,OperatingSystem)
	{
		Get-ADComputer -Filter {OperatingSystem -Like "*Windows*"} -SearchBase ("$searchb") -properties * |Select-Object name,OperatingSystem | Export-csv C:\UnsortedWorkstations.csv -notypeinformation -encoding utf8
	} else {
		exit
	}

I avoid Write-Host religiously ;).

First, I would avoid concatenating strings. There’s no need. See https://devopscollective.gitbooks.io/the-big-book-of-powershell-gotchas/content/manuscript/dontconcatenatestrings.html.

$searchb = "OU=$strOU,$strDomain"

That should work fine. Additionally, there’s no need for -SearchBase “$searchb”, just use -SearchBase $searchb.

The problem you’re doubtless running into is that you expect $strDomain to contain a domain name as a string. It does not. It contains a domain object, with many properties. You probably meant to…

$strDomain = Get-ADDomain -Current LocalComputer | Select-Object -Expand Name