Identify UNIX and Windows file type

Hi Team,

I am a beginner to powerShell and wanted to find a solution for the below issue. Need your advise on this.

I have a bunch of UNIX and Windows file in a directory. I need to

1. Identify list of UNIX file and mark it as False
  2. Identify list of WINDOWS file and mark it as TRUE.

Kindly help me to achieve this.

Pranav,

Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

When you crosspost the same question at the same time to different forums you should at least post links to the other forums along with your question to avoid people willing to help you making their work twice or more.

Thanks

Sure Olaf, I will do it from next time, I am going though the rules and regulations. I will definitely follow.

Sorry for the confusion.

According to the questions you’ve got in the comments on SO and your answers:

There’s no general way of distinguishing UNIX from Windows files because it depends on the file type. A plain text file for example like CSV or XML is pretty much the same on Windows or UNIX.

So you either have to elaborate much more detailed what your question is actually about or you’re pretty much out of luck.

Olaf,

Basically any file other than windows file(txt, docs) have to return False(sorry for my confusing terminology). If it is a windows file, then it need to return TRUE.

I tried Get - ChildItem, but not getting the required result.

There is no easy way for all file types to determine if they come from windows or UNIX/Linux. You may be able to tell this for some/ a few file types. But not in general for all.

Olaf,

Is there a way to accept txt file alone. Anything other than that, it can mark it as False.

So far, I used this command.

ls -rec | select PSParentpath, Extension -u

I can separate the parent path and extension based on the files.

The final path is to get it to TRUE or FALSE.

But how should the path tell you if it’s from UNIX or Windows? :thinking: