How does LCM determine a configuration has changed

When the LCM checks the pull server to see if its configuration has changed, how does it do this?

Does it simply compare the checksum of its current configuration with the checksum on the pull server, and if different download and apply the updated configuration (uniquely identified by a GUID)?

Thanks…

Yup. So if you don’t generate a new checksum, it won’t work. Plus, the checksum is used for an integrity check after the config is pulled.

What Don said. I don’t even want to admit how long it took me to figure that out when I started learning DSC. If there is a file on a Pull server, whether it’s a Configuration .MOF or a Resource .ZIP file, if any changes whatsoever are made, you need a new Checksum or the changes will be ignored.

Thanks to all…

I updated a resource module .zip file and its associated .zip.checksum file on the pull server, but I didn’t update its version number. The LCM on the client machine I am testing with isn’t pulling down the updated resource, so applying a updated configuration, that depends on a new custom resource contained in the updated resource module, is failing.

So while the updated configuration was pulled because of the checksum change, the updated resource is not getting pulled even though its checksum has changed. Should it?

I have “AllowModuleOverwrite=True”.

You’ve specified the required version of the resource module in the config?

Yes I have.

The version number in the .zip file needs to match what is in the .psd1 file . As an example, if my Module is named xComputerManagement_1.2.zip, the ModuleVersion specified in xComputerManagement.psd1 also needs to be 1.2, otherwise it doesn’t work (at least in my experience).

The module .zip file is “FMGlobalDSCResources_1.0_1.0.zip”, and ModuleVersion=“1.0” in the FMGlobalDSCResources_1.0.psd1 file.