displaying folder directory

by vanhoja at 2013-02-27 11:54:38

Hello,

I am completely new to PowerShell, today is my first day even using it. I have written a script that checks 3 shared folder locations for new files and gives a windows prompt if a new file has arrived. Since it is searching 3 different locations and prompting, I am wondering if there is a way to have it give full or even better just the folder file is in. Below is my code:

$currentFiles = Get-ChildItem \server1\Queued, \server2\Error, \Server3\FAILED<br>while(-1){

$newFiles = Get-ChildItem \server1\Queued, \server2\Error, \Server3\FAILED<br>
if($newFiles.count -ne $currentFiles.count){
$currentFiles = $newFiles
#Write-Host `a
$a=New-Object -comobject wscript.shell
$b=$a.popup("File in Queued needs processed",0,"New File in Queued",1)
}

Start-Sleep(5)
}
by DonJ at 2013-02-27 11:59:11
"Have it give full or even better just the folder file"

Sorry, I don’t understand what you’re asking for. Full what?
by vanhoja at 2013-02-27 12:47:00
Sorry, give the full directory path ex. \server1\folder1\queued or just Queued folder name etc for the folder location that the script finds the new file.
by DonJ at 2013-02-27 12:56:47
Sure. You have the files in $NewFiles, just display their FullName property.

$NewFiles | Select FullName

Or use Path, I think, if you just want the folder name.
by vanhoja at 2013-02-27 14:17:09
Ok, I am trying to figure that part out, I hate to ask but what should the code actually be to have it display in my prompt window with the message about the new file.
by DonJ at 2013-02-27 16:40:40
So… looking back, I take it back. That won’t work. Your $newfiles contains ALL the files - you’re just figuring out if there’s something new by looking at the count. If there are a LOT of files (thousands), this may not even work well, or quickly. Either way, you can’t pull "just" the new files out of that list that way.