Creating folders based on a custom folder content type

by tondam at 2013-02-15 13:50:15

I’m just starting out with Powershell and have been trying to create a custom folder as opposed to the standard out of the box folder that SharePoint provides. I can create the OOTB folders with my eyes closed but I can’t figure out how to create folders based on my own content type. Is this something that can be done with Powershell?

Simply replacing "Folder" with my own folder content type doesn’t do the job

$spFolder = $list.AddItem(“”,[Microsoft.SharePoint.SPFileSystemObjectType]::Folder,‘MyNewFolder’)

Am I missing something?
by AlexBrassington at 2013-02-17 23:38:54
The short version is: I don’t think you can using OOB.

The only way I know of to create a custom library based on a content type is to use an unholy blend of exporting a user solution from SharePoint, importing it into Visual Studio and deploying the resulting code as a feature. It works but it’s, generally, not a time saver.

Having said that it’s a relatively straight forward proposition;

Create a new library
Allow management of content types
Add your new Content Type
Remove the default content type
*Disable management of content types
Create a new default view with fields based on the content type

*Optional and possibly a bad idea, i haven’t tried this using GUI or PS. WIll need some experimentation

The views bit is a little niche but the rest is standard fare.
by AlexBrassington at 2013-02-18 02:38:01
Scratch my previous reply.

If i understand you correctly you wish to create a folder within a doc lib that only holds a specific content type? If so then it’s not something that SharePoint supports. You define the allowed content types at the library level, any folder within that library can contain any content type that the library allows. Restricting below the library level is not possible.

You could use document sets to achieve the desired effect but that might not meet your requirements.