Console UI in a new Buffer

Not sure if I’m even looking up the right terminology, and I’m a poor C++/C# programmer, but here’s what I’m trying to do:

If you’re familiar with Linux commands like nano, vim, htop, or man, you’ll know that when you run the command, though it runs in the terminal, it doesn’t overwrite the text on the display once it’s exited. I believe the correct terminology is that it starts a new Buffer, and writes all it’s output to it, then when the command exits, it returns to the previous buffer.

I’ve been looking to see if I can do something similar with PowerShell cmdlets I’m writing. I have the unfortunate task of making my tools accessible to lesser terminal users, hence why I’m spending the time thinking about the interface for a terminal UI.

I can’t even figure out how to create a new console buffer, which is why I’m wondering if I’m even looking in the right spot. Any help would be wonderful.

Can you provide an example of what is happening? Expected results? Not a *nix person, but it almost sounds like you want to do something like echo “Hello world” and you want that to happen in another session and come back to the main session?

Having *nix experience, I believe I get what @mitchvh05 is after. Based on what I believe is the desired result, I dont believe it is possible in windows EXACTLY as you would get in Linux. Here is my interpretation of what @mitchvh05 is after:

I am on a Linux box and I have a terminal open and I am at the prompt and want to edit a file using vim, I would enter “vim /path/to/file”. The terminal window would then open vim with my document to edit staying in and occupying the entire shell window. Once I exit vim, I am simply at the next line in the terminal window and dont lost previous shell content and or have to scroll to see it. Example:

[me@linuxbox me]$ vim /path/to/file (file opens and I edit, then exit)
[me@linuxbox me]$ (now I am back at the next line in the terminal)