Change script to workflow

Hi

I’m quite new to Powershell, learning slowly, but I have something that I need to do quite urgently that is beyond me.

I have a script that is used in an Azure runbook to automatically shutdown/startup VMs. I need it to perform these actions in parallel though, so need it to be a workflow.

However it contains two continues & a break which prevent that from working. I’m hoping someone can help me with changing it so that it can be used as a workflow please.

Script is here:
https://gist.github.com/carlewarl/e6fdd0f36d5da6f0911c85950976db46

Continues are on lines 396 & 403. Break is on 418.

Thanks very much.

Maybe it’s unreasonable to ask for help with such a long script. Perhaps if I just copy the section that I need assistance with?

How would I change this so that it can be used as a workflow please?

Thanks.

# For each VM, determine
    #  - Is it directly tagged for shutdown or member of a tagged resource group
    #  - Is the current time within the tagged schedule 
    # Then assert its correct power state based on the assigned schedule (if present)
    Write-Output "Processing [$($resourceManagerVMList.Count)] virtual machines found in subscription"
    foreach($vm in $resourceManagerVMList)
    {
        $schedule = $null

# Check for direct tag or group-inherited tag
        if($vm.ResourceType -eq "Microsoft.Compute/virtualMachines" -and $vm.Tags -and $vm.Tags.Name -contains "AutoShutdownSchedule")
        {
            # VM has direct tag (possible for resource manager deployment model VMs). Prefer this tag schedule.
            $schedule = ($vm.Tags | where Name -eq "AutoShutdownSchedule")["Value"]
            Write-Output "[$($vm.Name)]: Found direct VM schedule tag with value: $schedule"
        }
        elseif($taggedResourceGroupNames -contains $vm.ResourceGroupName)
        {
            # VM belongs to a tagged resource group. Use the group tag